Seriously. A little dumb.

Weird dumb, actually.

I mean, think of all the time, effort, and money I put into food shopping. It’s like, a lot. It’s a big part of my life. Store bought honey for my family? PERISH the thought. It’s just one of those things.

However, I made a realization yesterday that just made me stop and go, “…huh.”

People, I have been using a jar of coocnut oil from circa 2007. I think. There’s no real way to tell, exactly, but it’s the same jar I had back when I first started my blog and it was called “Sarah Eats & Stuff.” I am not sure why this jar of coconut oil traveled with us from MA to MD. I am also not sure why I didn’t even consider that perhaps this OLD ASS jar of coconut oil was not the best representation of its kind.

But that’s what happened.

So over the past few months, I’ve tried adding in my coconut oil because it’s so good for you. But the taste was so gross. It had such an awful after taste. Then a few days ago I was reading YET AGAIN about what a superfood coconut oil is, and I’m like, why do I HATE IT?!

Then I bought a new bottle.

Angels sung from above. And then smacked me on my nose for being stupid.

So, it turns out that I do like coconut oil, and enjoyed a delicious cup of coffee blended with coconut oil and better and am currently feeling smug and satisfied.

I ask you, have you ever eaten rancid coconut oil? Or just something too old?

I’m glad I didn’t kill anyone with it. Like my family.

 

