Happy Cyber Monday!

I’ve never taken part in any of the Black Friday madness or Cyber Monday festivities, but seeing as online is my preferred way to shop and I still have a partial Amazon gift card burning in my virtual bank account… I may check out the goods today!

More importantly though, we are home. All three of us had delightful colds while we were in Atlanta, and we are still pushing through them. Obviously air travel, sleeping in different beds, and a drastic menu change for four days did not help to stifle the sniffles.

 

I’m truly thrilled to start this Monday with my green juice. I’m sure my body is like, WHOA, live enzymes? Vitamins? For ME? Poor body. I also added a spoonful of melted coconut oil to the juice, which was a bland but doable blend of apple, celery, ginger, lemon, and a handful of baby spinach. The coconut oil really gets things moving through your system, if you know what I mean – which I discovered last Tuesday when I tried it for the first time.

Hubs and I are starting a quickie round of Whole30™ today to cleanse our bodies between holidays. We are actually kind of excited about it, which should tell you something about how we ate last week! The only difference from last time is I won’t be Xing out the butter or occasional raw dairy. There’s a couple reasons for that.

First – I love butter.

Second – I put my first order in for a farm share two weeks ago, and included is a nice pint of raw heavy cream. That’s not going to go to waste, people!

So, there.

About the farm share – I’m ridiculously excited about it. I recently devoured Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon, and then heard her lecture in school, and I’ve been struck by how much sense she makes, and how well this new cog of information fits into what I want to be doing for my family. I was fortunate enough to meet someone who invited me to be a member of a farm share in Pennsylvania, that operates by the Nourishing Traditions guidelines. They even ferment vegetables, make pure mayonaise, ketchup, and soaked/sprouted fresh bread. As I’m not ready yet to tackle fermentation or bread making, this felt like a pure gold baby. I’m beyond excited to start Eli on raw milk – I’ve ordered cow and goat. He’s been thriving on goat milk since he turned 1, but I can only find lightly pasteurized here in MD.

Speaking of, time to tend to my mittles!

He’s done with his bottle now. 🙂

 

Have a great Monday – and if you’re shopping, may the deals pour their love upon you!

