Hi there! Sorry I’ve been so MIA this week. I’ve had a busy time inside this brain of mine lately, and found myself kind of whirling around with ideas. That kept me quite occupied. There are some changes on the horizon, in a good way, that I believe will be awesome for my business and for my happiness. I’m excited. The serious part though, is in the execution. Time to buckle down and do some hardcore executin’! 🙂

Anyway, my little monster is almost a year old, and that got me to thinking about things we do now that are entirely different than how we used to do them, you know, Pre Baby. Popular terms and activities now how totally different definitions. For example:

Sleeping in. This one used to mean Hubs and I…sleeping in. Like, sleeping, together, in bed, into double digits. It happened every. single. weekend. Now it means, one of us takes the high road and gets up with Eli, while the other tries to convince themselves that they are truly sleeping in, even though it’s 8am and the mind is already running a hundred miles an hour and wondering ridiculous things like – is my SO making the right amount for the morning bottle? Did he poo poo yet? Awesome!

Dinner and a movie. Pretty self explanatory. Pretty standard Friday night stuff. Now turned into Dinner OR a movie. Because either a) the baby sitter won’t stay for the time needed to watch a movie AND eat dinner or b) we can’t stay awake for both.

Romantic gestures. Flowers, hand holding, deep conversation, a fancy meal. Forget that crap. A romantic gesture is Hubs volunteering the clean all the bottles before bedtime. I’m all mushy just thinking about it.

It’s safe to say though, that I wouldn’t trade any of these new definitions for anything in the world. Being Eli’s mommy is the best. It just means working a little harder at keeping your relationship fresh. Thinking outside the box. I’ll let you know when I think of something better than cleaning the bottles.

Anyway, in the spirit of Fall (THE BEST) and motherhood(also THE BEST), I bring you this delicious libation, courtesy of bourbon (really THE BEST).

Spiced Pear Martini

20121027-114311.jpg

Makes 2 martinis

Ingredients:
4 oz fresh pear juice with ginger*
1 oz full fat coconut milk
2 oz Bourbon
Allspice

Ice

*I highly suggest juicing 1 large, very ripe pear along with a 1 inch knob of ginger, to get your juice. It’s better for you and infinitely more delicious. However, if you do not have a juicer you could a) blend a pear with your ginger(peeled) and then strain it to get out the pulpy bits b) purchase 100% pear juice and grate your ginger into it with a microplane.

Fill a martini shaker with ice, and then pour all the ingredients into it. Add a dash or two of the allspice. Shake vigorously. Strain into two martini glasses and garnish with another little sprinkle of allspice. Yum!

Enjoy your weekend!

