So, we made it through week 1 of the Whole30 challenge, which logic and others tell me is the hardest part.

  • Days 1-4 were the most difficult sugar-wise. I am was a total wreck. I heard things incorrectly, had trouble with cognitive thought, and as evidenced by my blog posts on those days, probably should not have even tried to communicate through writing.
  • Food-wise, it hasn’t been difficult. I’ve been cooking up a storm and that’s been cool.
  • I ate way too many dates on days 1-4, but perhaps that’s what I needed to do. I find myself “over” the dates, so that’s a nice surprise.

Appetite wise, I find myself eating less. I’m simply not as hungry. I have noticed this with Hubs too, because he’s usually a very hearty eater, so I portion him that way, and these days he’s been leaving some food on the plate (but not the veggies!) In the past two days, I’ve felt a sort of control come over me that I’ve been feeling in varying degrees over the past few months with regard to food. I am in control of the food and not the other way around. I think that the past seven days have really amplified that feeling, and given me the kind of will-power I never had through all my years of dieting. While one can argue that I’m on a very restrictive eating plan right now, it honestly doesn’t feel like it to me. It feels refreshing at this point and I’m exciting to see what this week brings in terms of the way my body feels and works.

 

In other news, that’s my little guy standing up all by himself. The second he realized he was doing that, he sat down. He’s also learned how to navigate the stairs, which Hubs and I learned this weekend when we suddenly realized our son was nowhere to be found. The little bugger had decided to go up two flights of stairs to his bedroom, to mess with his diaper stash. I don’t think I need to emphasize how much I freaked out. Even now, every time I go upstairs, I think about how he could have died. We now have a gate at the bottom of the stairs, needless to say.

I swear, this kid is on a mission to see how many different ways he can attempt to kill himself.

I’m off to get some school work done. I hope you are all having a great Tuesday!

 

