I really love sauce.

At different points in my life, sauce love has been a downfall. For example, circa 2007-2008 when I was on the hunt for the perfect Alfredo sauce. And then started making it. You know I love me some butter. But if you put a truck load of butter and cream on white pasta, inevitably, you’ll become a truck load of butter. It’s just the way it is.

Anyway, I’ve recently discovered what a reduction of balsamic vinegar is. I’m not sure why no one told me about this. Except that ┬ánow, I’m reducing bottles of vinegar daily. And loving it.

Over fresh tomato chunks… Delightful!

Over LaLoo’s Snowflake goat’s milk ice cream?

O M G.

So, that’s one sauce I’m loving these days.

The other is a sauce I’ve loved for over a decade. It’s one of the signature sauces from Angelica Kitchen in NYC, and I would probably eat a paper bag if you dipped it in this stuff. While the actual sauce in the restaurant is the best ever, this recipe does come close, and is simply delicious on steamed veggies, buckwheat noodles, brown rice… Anything really.

SOBA SENSATION SAUCE

I’m linking you to Martha Stewart’s page, because she took the sauce recipe from the actual Angelica Kitchen cookbook. You know how I am with recipes, which is probably why my version never tastes the same twice AND isn’t exactly as it is in the restaurant…

You’ll notice that the proportions of rice vinegar, sweetener, tamari are equal. I used maple syrup in place of brown sugar and just adjusted the amount of water needed. I omitted garlic, as I’m not a huge fan of raw garlic. I did put the fresh ginger and that was delicious.

Good stuff!

Well, my friends, it is Friday. In exactly 7 days, I will leaving my only son and traveling across the country to drink wine, eat, and sleep in peace. I’m already having mini panic attacks. I know he will be fine. I know that. But suddenly the thought of being away from him for more than a few hours is extremely overwhelming! So I’m really excited + really freaked out.

Ladies with kids – how was it your first time leaving your little one? Did you freak out?

