Eggplant, for me, is one of those vegetables that can either be a culinary masterpiece or akin to eating a dirty old shoe. That’s really how I feel about it. I’m often conflicted as to whether or not to order it at restaurants, because just the slightest bit of undercooking and it’s just inedible to me. I don’t really know of another vegetable that I find downright repulsive when it’s not cooked within an inch of its life.

Wow. I’m really talking up this poor veggie, huh?

Up until recently, I’ve had mostly fails when it comes to cooking eggplant. And I know why now – I’m not patient enough to cook it the way it needs to be cooked. But now that I know how to roast it, I’m a baba ghanoush fiend. And I now have one more eggplant dish to add to my repertoire.

Yummy!

Can you SEE how melt-in-your-mouth delicious that chunk of eggplant is? It’s like velvet butter.

We’ll just call this what it is.

Eggplant Deliciousness “Stew”

note: You could use two eggplants and one entire jar of tomato sauce (25 oz I think). The eggplant I used was not super large.

  • 1 eggplant, peeled in strips (or not, it’s your preference. More skin will hold the chunks together) and cubed
  • Approx 12-14 oz tomato sauce (if your sauce has no added sugar, add 1 tsp of sweetener)
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 3-4 cloves of roasted garlic
  • 1 pat of butter
  • 1 tbsp olive oil (plus more for drizzling later)
  • 1/4 tsp tumeric (2x)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin  (2x)
  • dash cayenne (to taste) (1x)
  • 1/2 – 1 cup water

In a skillet, melt your butter and olive oil together, then add the garlic and onions. Sautee for about 2 minutes, until the onion is a bit soft and shiny. Add cumin and tumeric, mix it all up.  Add your eggplant chunks. Sautee for about 7-10 minutes, adding a little water to the pan to keep things from sticking.

In a large saucepan, heat your tomato sauce and add in the tumeric, cumin, and cayenne. This would also be the time to add sugar if you’re using it. Once your tomato sauce is hot, add the eggplant and tomato mix to the saucepan.

Stir to combine, you can sprinkle in a touch of salt. Add water slowly to loosen up the sauce. It should be a bit liquidy, as the eggplant will soak it up. Heat to simmer, then put a lid on and keep the heat on low.

Simmer for 1 hour. Check on it every 10-15 minutes, give it a stir, see if you want to add more water, etc.

Serve hot, room temp, or cold.

Drizzle each serving with a touch of olive oil and a sprinkle of sea salt!

I hope you enjoy this one! I ate mine with a bit of whole wheat lavash. It would be equally delicious with some couscous or quinoa too.

