Have you guys noticed that little count down thingy at the bottom of my page?

16 days!

I’m really, really, really… Really excited.

We used to party! This was waaay back in the day… 2006 I think!

The things I’m excited to do may surprise you. But perhaps, if you’re a mommy, they won’t. You see, no one really ever fully explains to you how life changes in small, yet deep ways, once you have a baby. I love my son and would not trade him or the experience of being his mother for anything in the world. But there are a few things that I miss.

  1. Eating my dinner in peace. Eli is at the stage where if he’s awake, he’s moving. And if he’s moving, he’s magnetically attracted to either the most dangerous or most annoying thing in the room. I have the time it takes him to down a 6 oz bottle to get my dinner down the hatch. Relaxing? Not so much.
  2. Sleeping. Wow, I can’t believe this is number 2. But while he’s home, he’s gotten fairly “decent” with the sleeping. Nonetheless, the concept of Sleeping In is completely beyond his comprehension.
  3. Spending adult time with my husband. Not gonna lie, it’s gotten a little PG around here. We’re just tired. Hubs is working A LOT plus traveling, and I’m running around after Baby Godzilla all day and trying to squeeze in a lecture or two. And a blog post (haha). When Eli finally crashes, it’s almost like we crash too. We possibly have enough gas to get through True Blood and then pass out.
  4. Reading a work of fiction. There was a brief period of perhaps 3 weeks when I read A LOT. I mean, all of the Game of Thrones books. Plus the Hunger Games trilogy. It was such a blissful time. I think it was when Eli really hit his groove with the breastfeeding and would spend an hour latched on, during which time I’d Kindle the heck of my iPad. Now? If I can get a minute to read, it’s either for school or a recipe. Or like, my Facebook newsfeed.

I think I’ll stop it there. Lest I lose myself in a wave of self-pity.

What a life. 🙂

Anyway, we are going to Sonoma in 16 days. It’s a quick trip, really, 3 nights, 4 days. But the wonderful part is, we only have one excursion plan, which is a private car taking us to different wineries for 5 hours (gosh, how will we manage it…) and the rest of the time, is for us. Sleeping in, eating, drinking, doing whatever the heck we want. 

I’m really quite excited. Quite, quite, quite.

And now I must go. Evernote tells me that some floors need vacuuming, a litter box needs cleaning, and then this girl needs some chow before Baby Godzilla arises.

Have you had any great trips this summer? Or any big plans for August?

