Because over here, something had to give.

Part of my learning in school is inward facing – that is, focused right at me. I’m so quick to be all, Omg, Eli never sleeps, I’m so busy, I can’t keep my house clean, I can’t get dressed, the only thing I can do is make my green juice in the morning! And I’m sure you’ve thought it (or someone around me has) and I love you for not just saying it to me (whoever you are) but yes, I’m aware:

I’m not the first person to have a baby. 

But I might as well be.

At least he’s cute.

 

It occurred to me though, over the past few weeks, that I probably spend a little too much time staring blankly into the black hole that is Facebook. How? I mean, I’m so flippin’ busy, how in the world do I have time to zone out? It was a good question, and I already know the answer. Which is also the answer to why my house is a wreck, I’m haven’t showered, and my to-do list is snaking its way around my neck. I zone out during the ONE time in the day I could actually get something done.

Granted, sometimes I just need to. Zone out, that is. Otherwise I might become Psycho Mommy and do something… Psychotic. But there’s no earthly reason why I can’t get this ship in shape and I’ve taken some steps to get it done.

 

I found this program called Evernote. I’m probably the second to last person to find it. But I decided to take the first hour of Eli’s morning nap every day and turn that into my “chore hour.” By using this system and making a fashionable table with check off boxes on Evernote, I should, for all intents and purposes, be able to have a pretty decently clean house. I’ve also organized all of my school “to-do’s” by the week, and have penciled them in according to how long they take.

Today is my first day. It’s Tuesday so I’m already behind. But, as I so proudly jotted down in Evernote…

Today in 38 minutes I:

  • Listened to a lecture
  • Cleaned the kitchen
  • Created a new organization system for the mail
  • Tidied family room
  • Put sheets in the laundry
  • Organized laundry area

I won’t be making a habit of listening to lectures while doing twenty other things, but I feel pretty darn good. I’m excited.

So, either this means I’m going to be super awesome, or I’ll just be making hundreds of lists daily. With check off boxes. We’ll see.

Are you guys organized? What do you do to make sure you stay on track?

Do you use Evernote? and if so… Are you also obsessed?

