I’ve been drowning my sorrows in fat, my friends.

Lots and lots of fat.

This is a huge improvement from previous bouts of unhappiness that were pacified with copious amounts of donuts, potato chips, pizza… Well, let’s just say that I do have a history of eating for comfort.

At least these days, it isn’t killing my waistline.

Last night, dinner was just delightful.

This is a simple version of Eggs Benedict without the meat and the English Muffin, making it properly combined and delicious. My Hollandaise sauce was a disaster (as you can see) but it tasted magnificent. You can recreate this (probably much better!) by just plating up a bed of steamed veggies (I had a cup of eggplant, baby potatoes, zuke all chopped up), topping them with poached eggs, and then dousing with hollandaise. To take it over the top, add a couple of slices of bacon.

I suggest using this recipe for quick blender Hollandaise. Please use the suggested amounts of ingredients – she measured them for a reason, I found out. 🙂

This would really delicious on a couple thick slices of yummy summer tomatoes too…Hmm, dinner for breakfast again? Perhaps!

Also whipped up an “off the cuff” version of baba ghanoush.

This is actually easy to make. I overdid it on the roasted garlic, but the ingredients are as follows:

Baba Ghanoush

1 medium – large eggplant, roasted

1/4 cup tahini 

olive oil to taste + consistency

Juice of 1-2 lemons

1/2 tsp cumin

2-4 cloves of roasted garlic (I think I used 6-7)

salt to taste

Sprinkle of paprika

To make, scoop the flesh of the eggplant out and add to your blender with the tahini and the garlic. Pulse to combine. Add lemon juice, pulse again. Add olive oil, cumin. Blend it up. Taste and then season/olive oil it to your liking. Very simple. So delicious. 

We’re heading down to Atlanta tomorrow to see the in-laws. I’m actually pretty much packed already, which is shocking for me – I’m the queen of last minute packing. I think they are pretty excited to see this one:

And his crazy little butt is all theirs.

I should be able to crank out a post before Friday – perhaps with some yummy Mom-in-law cooking. I hope you all have a great rest of your week!

And, if you haven’t done this already…

Follow me on Instagram! 

