People, it has come to my attention that I probably should never post any recipes at all!

Why?

I just really hate measuring ingredients. This is why I consistently fail at baking anything. I feel like measuring cups and measuring spoons just create more THINGS for me to wash. I feel like they put too much pressure on me. I feel like… I’m lazy.

But I also realize that when working with spices you may be unfamiliar with, telling you to “sprinkle of this and that” is kind of ridiculous. I know, I know. So here is my best attempt at explaining my recipe to you. It’s really so delicious. I can’t wait to make it again. Perhaps this is dinner. I can’t think of a better way to use up vegetable stragglers.

Please remember – add a little, taste a lot. You can always add more stuff – much harder to take it out šŸ™‚

Vegetable Korma

Serves 6-8 (or… Me)

Approx 3 cups of vegetables – I used baby red potatoes, zucchini, and one small bell pepper, and a handful of frozen spinach

1 onion, chopped

2 large handfuls of whole raw cashews, soaked for 10 mins in 1 cup of water

1/4 cup coconut milk

1 tbsp ghee or butter (or coconut oil, I suppose…)

Tumeric

Cumin

Coriander powder

Chili powder

 

First, put your veggies to steam. This is especially important if you decide to use potatoes. I think a mix of frozen spinach, mushrooms, and cauliflower would be lovely too. Steam your veggies for about 15 minutes or so (steam potatoes until soft).

While that’s steaming up, start with the ghee or butter in a large non-stick pan (I use a wok-like pan), once melted and hot, add your onions. Cook until starting to get soft, maybe 2-3 minutes, then start to add your spices.

Add ONE teaspoon of: tumeric, coriander, cumin (the Indian trinity!)

Then depending on your spice preference, you can add the same amount of chili powder, or less. Whatever you like.

Cook up those onions in those spices! Remember, these spices will be spicing a huge batch of veggies and the creamy sauce, so don’t flip out.

Once onions are nice and cooked and flavorful (5 mins I’d say), take them off the heat for a moment.

 

Put your cashews and water, along with the coconut milk until a high powered blender and blend until creamy and smooth. This is a cream sauce, so if it seems too thick, add more water or coconut milk. You can also adjust this later.

Add cream sauce to the pan and turn the heat to medium. Stir to combine the spices with the cream sauce. Taste. Add more spices and salt as you see fit.

Your veggies should be done. Add them to the mix! Now’s also the time to add your frozen spinach, if you’re using it.

Stir ’em up. Let them simmer for a few minutes. Add more liquid if necessary.

And you’re done!

You can serve this with some basmati rice and chopped lettuce/tomato for a more traditional meal. But I just ate mine with a side of hot mango chutney. It’s so rich all by itself!

Feel free to contact me with questions if you try this out. Good luck šŸ™‚

