Are you enjoying my beet puns?

I’ve surely been enjoying my beets.

Is there anything more beautiful than beet juice? Just looking at it gives me a little pep in the morning, which I’ve really been needing lately. I can feel this cold (or whatever it is) is progressing through my system, but it’s just a real pain in the neck. Especially when I’ve got so much to do in preparation for our trip.

I’ve been eating a lot of soup.

That’s Amy’s Organic Tomato Bisque with added tofu chunks. It was actually pretty darn good.

I’ve been drinking a lot of tea.

I picked this up the other day and really like. The flavor is pleasant and it really does soothe my throat. The cute giraffe is just a bonus.

I’ve been making sure I’m getting my antioxidants.

All excellent choices, but that Vosges… Wow. Cayenne, cinnamon… it’s fabulous. A shame that I couldn’t fully taste it, but even so it was really yummy.

And yesterday, something green and leafy made a reappearance in my life.

I tried grain tempeh yesterday for the first time. It crumbled nicely, and had a bland, slightly sweet flavor. I put it in a pan with some curry seasoning and little water to help it absorb, then put it over a bed of baby spinach. Then doused it in my tahini dressing after the picture. It was great. I’m going to do it for lunch later again. I could see using this tempeh for a lot of things. Sloppy Joes, tacos, and stir fry all come to mind.

Have you all met Kitty?

We got him from the shelter in February of 2011. Best cat ever. I’ve never had a cat before so I just assumed that like most cats I’d met, he’d be very independent and aloof. But no. Kitty is a Cat-Dog. He is playful, talkative, and absolutely adores his family. He sleeps in our bed, cuddles, gives kisses, and is just an all-around mushface.

Well, I’m off to put the final touches on this house before company arrives. Have a great Wednesday!

 

Reader Feedback:

What’s your favorite thing to eat when you’re sick?

 

