It’s a beautiful Monday here in Maryland, but this girl is s-i-c-k. I strongly considered writing a pity post about how awful it is to be honest to goodness sick and be a mommy at the same time, but then decided to stop being a whiny pants. It is  hard though, as obviously every mother out there knows. It blows. And it doesn’t help that my other half is in Massachusetts right now.

I’ve been up since 6:30. I’ve showered, washed my hair and dried it, did a load of laundry, and went grocery shopping. That’s 5 things more than I felt like doing.

I think the worst part of whatever this sickness is, is the fact that I can’t taste things correctly right now. My tofu stirfry last night should have been delicious, but it tasted like mushy cardboard. Strawberries taste sour. And I feel like everything needs more salt! It’s just awful. And I still can’t stomach the idea of a raw salad, so I’ve been really diligent about getting my morning juice. Since I just went shopping, I refreshed the line-up:

A beet, lemon, ginger, celery, and one beet with its greens, and an apple.

Beets are intense, but so very good for you. They are known as excellent blood purifiers, help create more red blood cells, and are great for all-around circulatory health. I feel my blood could use some purifying.

It was pretty good. And I feel much better having had my juice this morning. I was absolutely telling myself all sorts of stories on the way home from the store about how I could just juice later, or have tea instead, or just juice later… But I don’t know about you, but later lives pretty close to never where I’m from.

Anyway, I’ve got plenty to do to get things ready for our epic family vacation to Martha’s Vineyard. My in-laws, step-daughter and her daughter are coming here Wednesday afternoon from Atlanta, and will brush off that 10 hour drive until Friday, when we’ll head down to Connecticut, grab my dad and sister, and meet up with Hubs in Massachusetts on Saturday morning. Should all go according to plan, we will be on the island no later than 12 pm on Saturday and I can hand over this munchy to his grandparents:

Ps. Click HERE to vote for Eli’s cute face 🙂

AND TAKE A NAP!

Until then, have a wonderful Monday!

AND – Welcome to all my new readers! ❤

