That’s what we call being sick in our house. It hit me like a cement mixer before bed last night, and I just knew it wasn’t going to be good. I’m constantly amazed at how quickly I can go from fine to deathbed.

Lucky for me, this hit just at the exact wrong time. First, we had a party to go to. A fabulous party with special punch, carnitas, and great company that we had been planning to attend for over a month! OUTRAGEOUS. Also, hubs is leaving tomorrow and will be gone all week. We’ll meet up with him on Saturday at the ferry for Martha’s Vineyard in Massachusetts.

So it’s going to be a long week.

Thankfully, he has taken care of Eli today for the most part, so I could rest up a little while I had a chance. I just got out of the longest and hottest shower I’ve had in seven months, and these have been my cuddle buddies:

When I’m sick, the last thing I crave is a vegetable. Forget salads. I did manage to down my customary morning juice, which made me feel a little better – at least some nutrients got in there. I’ve been sipping on this:

And gargling with this combo, which my Doctor cousin recommended to me. It tastes absolutely horrific, but it does seem to help the throat a bit.

+ water

Hopefully this doesn’t last more than a few days. I’m really crossing my fingers. In the meantime, here’s a recipe for the lemon-ginger tea that I made vats of when I’m sick, and sip on throughout the day. It’s the only way I can make sure I stay hydrated!

Sicky poo Tea

  • 4-6 cups water
  • heaping tablespoon of star anise (whole, not ground)
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 lemon, cut into slices
  • 1-2 inches of ginger (I use 2, I like it spicy), grated or roughly chopped
  • Sweetener of choice – honey is a fair choice, as it coats the throat nicely
  • 1 tea bag, orange pekoe or other black tea. Decaf if you like.

Combine all the ingredients except for the sweetener and the teabag in a pot and bring to boil. Reduce heat to low and let it brew for 3o minutes to an hour. Add sweetener and tea bag and turn off the heat. Let tea bag steep for 3-4 minutes then remove. Strain mixture, keeping the lemon if you like.

Any homeopathic remedies you’d like to throw at me? Since I’m breastfeeding, heavily artillery is off limits.

 

