Today I was determined not to drink that powdered hot coco again. It really gave me a headache and kind of made me feel like I didn’t do too well on the eating front. So, this afternoon, when the chocolate cravings began to settle in, I hit the pantry to create this:

This was no Swiss Miss! Into the Vitamix went:

  • Almonds
  • Cashews
  • Water
  • 5 dates
  • raw cacao powder
  • vanilla
  • dash cinnamon
  • dash salt

Strain.

I think I’m going to invest in one of those cheese cloths so that my nut milk comes out extremely smooth. The strainer does work, but it’s still not 100% silky smooth, which I think would have made it even more delicious. It was still pretty good. I drank it hot, but it also tastes quite yummy chilled.

However, that alone was not enough to satisfy the chocolate monster. So I wandered on over to my friend Megan’s blog, crossing my fingers that I had all the ingredients necessary to make her delicious looking Peanut Butter Cups. I did ๐Ÿ˜‰

No cupcake liners... so I improvised with condiment bowls and wax paper

Even though they weren’t pretty like Megan’s, they were definitely delicious and I highly recommend you check out her recipe and give it a whirl. It actually took me less time to make these than it would have taken to drive to the store and buy a pack of Reese’s. And these are much less guilt inducing! Next time I will have the cupcake liners and make them pretty. I’ll also up the amount of nut butter. So delicious!

