No, that’s not true at all. I suck at blogging.

It’s not that I haven’t been thinking about you all — because I have. And I’ve still been reading blogs, in lurk-mode, but honestly… I haven’t felt compelled to write lately, and though it’d be easy to blame my much busier schedule, I do know that most of the bloggers out there are even busier than I am and can bust out a super-awesome post each day anyhow. So whatevs.

I am here now, and if you’d like to tune in for a minute or two, I’ll update you on the haps.

Summer isn’t Summer and that’s a Bummer.

Why isn’t Summer like it used to be when I was in High School? Three months lasted forever and were filled with fun adventures, late night trips to the diner, and flirting with boys. Now it seems like Summer is destined to be simply, the hotter time of the year. Such a shame! And it is gone so quickly… Can you even believe it’s August?

Luckily, the tail end of Summer is shaping up to be more fun than the head. On Thursday, Hubs and I are heading down to HotLanta to attend a show and to see some family – should be a good time. We have an engagement party in NJ a week or so later, and then it’s Hubs birthday, and I’m hard at work devising a delightful plan for him… It’s so great that his birthday lands on a Friday this year!

And then, in September, we are taking a few days off and heading to Martha’s Vineyard with some cousins and my sister and her boyfriend. So yes, I am actually not moping about any of that. August is going to be great.

There is another reason too…

I actually won something!

On a whim, I entered the giveaway Heather posted to win a month of online personal training with Lean Bodies Health and Fitness. I never win giveaways, but it’s almost like the health fairy was on my shoulder when I entered! I was SO excited to win!! I started up my session last week, because I just couldn’t wait until 8/1, and I’m happy to say that the initial shock and awe (read: crippling muscle pain) has subsided and I’m pumped to be pumping some iron again.

As you already know, I got bigger, and no my jeans don’t fit yet. However, they ALMOST do. And best of all, I’m feeling better about me. It’s amazing what a little exercise can do for you. If I’m feeling freaky, I may even post before and after pics. That’s a big “MAY.”

Routines Can Be Good!

Some office environments are terrible for maintaining good eating habits. Luckily for my, that is not the case where I work. I pretty much have to be on my feet all day, and only take short breaks to grab a bite. I’ve been packing my lunches! And snacks, of course. There’s been a lot of goat’s milk yogurt and these:

I love my burritos!

I’ve also been starting my day, EVERY DAY, with one of these:

Clearly my photo skills have suffered in my absence.

I’ve had an insatiable craving for all things chocolate+pb, so starting my day off with this bad boy is exactly what I need to keep me from eating Ben & Jerry’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk.

  • Almond Milk
  • 2 c baby spinach
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein
  • 2 scoops raw cacao
  • 1 heaping spoon of almond butter
  • pinch sea salt
  • drizzle of agave nectar
  • 4-6 ice cubes

It’s literally my favorite thing ever.

From an eating standpoint, I’ve been upping the protein and decreasing the sugar. This makes me feel stronger and better. I’ve cut way back on cow’s milk dairy and instead eat goat’s milk dairy, which seems to agree with the tummy more. I’ve taken a break on the juicing, because I’m in need of more fiber and less sugar, and I’m incapable of making a juice without an apple and some carrots in it. I feel fairly confident that with the way I’m eating, and the addition of some actual exercise, I should be able to get back into those jeans by the end of the month.

Operation Put your Pants On has commenced.

How are your summer’s going? Anything epic?

Hubs and I are just counting the days until we can get down to Maryland and into our new house. We’re deathly excited about it — but it still seems like a dream — though the cash we’ve put down is very real. 🙂

I’ll try to stop being such a stranger!

