So, as you know, I’m doing this Whole30 Challenge. That means no sugar. It turns out that everything in the entire world has added sugar in it, including most hot sauces and spice mixes. I’m also not eating soy. So the 25% of spices and sauces that don’t have sugar, definitely have soy. It’s irritating.

However, I was so pleased to discover red and green curry paste at the market the other day, and even more pleased to find that they included no soy OR sugar. Say WHAT? Yes.

It looks like this. Comes in green and red. Yum.

So, in the spirit of Fall, which is my favorite of all seasons, I bring you this delicious, healthy, Whole30 approved soup. Enjoy!

Thai Roasted Acorn Squash Soup

Makes 1 large portion, or 1 Mommy portion and 1 baby portionĀ 

  • 1 Acorn Squash
  • 1/2 cup full fat coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup water (or more for desired consistency)
  • 1 tbsp Red Curry paste
  • Salt to taste – I used a Alder Smoked Sea salt, which was fabulous. This is a good recipe to test out a fancy salt with

 

Cut your squash in half, scoop out the seeds, put on a cookie sheet and roast for about 40 minutes in a 350 degree oven. No need to overcook. A fork should pierce the flesh easily.

After roasting, carefully scoop out the flesh. The skin will tear easily, so just do your best.

Pop the flesh in your blender.

 

Add coconut milk

Whir whir whir

 

Process until it has a velvety texture. You can add more water or coconut milk to get your desired consistency. I like my soup a little thick – you may like yours thinner. That’s ok!

In a pot, pour your puree and add your dollop of red curry paste. You’ll notice I measure using a baby spoon and call that a tablespoon. I’m sorry. At least I took pictures?

 

Turn heat up to medium, and incorporate the paste. Taste. Want more paste? Add more paste!

At this point, decide if you need more liquid as well. It’s up to you.

Heat it up to desired “hotness”!

Add your salt to taste.

And Voila!

 

I garnished mine with sliced avocado.

Babies love this. Or, at least my baby does.

 

 

You could pretty much use any squash!

 

I hope you enjoy it.

 

Happy Saturday!

