Hi guys! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. This is just a quickie post to say hello. I’ve got about 60 minutes left of nap time and a shizz nizzle of a to-do list to whip through.

Hubs and I had a WONDERFUL FLIPPIN’ TIME in Sonoma. I cannot imagine why, pre-baby, we never went there? I just can’t. Taste delicious wine all day, feast upon delicious food by night? Yes please.

 

Yep. That’s me, probably 5-6 wineries into the day.

Truly though, it was so wonderful for Hubs and I to just be US again. It really breathed some new oxygenated air into our relationship, and while we’re both exhausted from yesterday’s full day of travel, we really do feel good.

Remember how I was so nervous about leaving my son?

 

“Dear Mom,

Come back whenever. Grandma is just as good at making my bottles and hand-feeding me delicious tidbits of whatever she’s eating. She also understands that I need 100% of her attention at all times. You could pick up a few pointers.

Love, Eli”

The moral of this story is that babies are liars. They say they love you and need you and then just turn around and love whoever makes the bottles.

I’m kidding. Sort of. When my mom told me that he was sticking to his nap/sleep schedule, eating well, being a little saint, I did have a moment of, “Oh…really? No tears?” But I think knowing that he was totally fine enabled me to relax and have a good time as well. If I knew he was having fits the whole time I clearly would have been anxious.

But really. What a little user.

Ahh.

 

Delicious margherita pizza and Zinfandel at VJB Wineries.

 

Grapes doing their thing.

 

Homemade wine truffles.

Lemon Ricotta pancakes

 

Chilaquiles

Remember how I’ve had vacations where I come back lighter or without having gained an ounce?

This was not one of those vacations.

 

So worth the bloat, though.

Have you guys had any good vacations this summer? Moms – how was your first trip away from the babies?

 

