Truly!

One of the best food blogs I’ve come across ever has got to be The Shiksa in the kitchen. There’s such a huge wealth of information on the site, from simple things like how to seed a tomato to fun nerdy things like a white bean soup that Thomas Jefferson was fond of. There’s obviously a heavy influence of Jewish cooking, from many different Jewish cultures, and it’s truly just a delicious goldmine of recipes. I haven’t tried one thing that wasn’t great and I’ve been inspired to try other things by looking at her recipes.

Yesterday, since I had a boatload of plum tomatoes and peppers from my CSA share, I decided to see what I recipes I could make, and I sure found a delicious one!

Matbucha!

It’s a delicious, slow-cooked medley of roasted tomatoes, roasted peppers, garlic, spice, and olive oil of course. Eaten as a cold salad, it’s so delicious on pretty much everything and anything. Last night I spooned it atop chicken drumsticks for husband with roasted cauliflower as a side . He loved it! It’s also a hit with this guy:

He loves strong flavors. A guy after my own heart :)

 

Yum. We’re definitely having this with scrambled eggs for breakfast!

This week has started off kind of crazy. Yesterday Eli was all off his schedule, and a pip for general purposes. He probably napped for a grand total of 40 minutes the entire day, and for a kid who average 3.5 hours of naps, that just wasn’t a good thing. However, he seems to be in good spirits this morning, so I’m crossing my fingers that I can get him back on track before my mom gets here tomorrow. She’s going to be staying here with the zoo while Hubs and I go here…

Yes, please!

I’m even going to get my nails done.

I’m thinking this color for my toes:

Can you tell I’m excited?

Well, it’s time for coffee and a little breakfast. Have you had your green juice yet? :)

This one is my new favorite: Kale, cucumber, half a fennel (the WHOLE thing, halved), lemon, apple. So delicious!

