A quick reflection on weight loss. Are you ever “done”? I’m finding it to be an interesting mental predicament. I hit my goal (wedding) weight, and even dropped down almost 5 lbs below it. But for some reason, I didn’t feel like, “Okay, check that box off!” I think has a lot to do with the fact that a) I can’t believe I actually lost all that weight without doing something ridiculous, b) my body is shaped completely different than it was when last this weight and I met, and c) I’m just so flippin’ used to being a diet and/or trying to lose weight.

How sad, huh?

A large part of what I’m learning at IIN is how important being happy with YOU and YOUR LIFE is in respect to also finding balance with your health and weight. There are other things that matter. My relationship with my husband and my family, my friends, my career, and my spirituality. It’s terrifyingly easy to let a lot of those things slip away, especially when you’re busy running after an 8 month old, keeping everyone clothed and fed, and being in school. But it’s completely doable – you just have to remember that you want to do it. I have to remember it every day. These are called Primary Foods.

Thoughts?

In the world of food, yesterday was pretty epic.

I roasted my first eggplant.

It was heartbreakingly easy. Cover twice in tin foil (no air gaps) and roast over an open flame for about 15-20 minutes, giving it a quarter turn every few minutes.

It came out tender and smoky. Amazing.

Visit Shiksa in the Kitchen for more details and other methods to roast. This was perfect.

I whirled it up with a little tahini, lemon juice, salt, olive oil, and smoked paprika, for a version of baba ghanoush.

Then it I served it as so:

It was so mouth-happy.

The cucumbers were sliced and marinated in a mix of apple cider vinegar, salt, stevia, and dill ala Mama Pea. The tomatoes were chopped. The corn roasted in its husk at 350 degrees for exactly 27 minutes. So delicious. And all from my CSA box!

Yes, I was hitting the food blogs hard yesterday.

I hope you all have a wonderful Tuesday!

